Zinnias and a Sprinkler

Irene is on her way.  The track keeps shifting from east to west to east, so we keep moving in and out of the second band of wind speeds.  So…I moved everything in the yard into the sheds or the house this afternoon.  The Cub wanted me to set the pool up.  I was not doing this for one afternoon and then taking it down again, so I told him that he could play in the sprinkler.  We haven’t ever done this with him.  He jumped at the chance.

And through the sprinkler

Lots of times.

With his goggles on so that he could see better.

Then we moved the sprinkler closer to the swingset so that he could slide down the wet slide.

Then closer so he could swing in and out of the water as it moved.   He had a blast while I moved everything and locked it all up.

Then I cut the only blooming zinnias before they get beaten to a pulp.  The garden didn’t yield much this year because of the late start, but we are still getting string beans and I have some pretty flowers.

Can you see the top of the stem in this shot? (If you click on the photo you should get a jumbo sized one.)

It’s curled.  The flower is on the other side at a right angle to the plant.

How odd.

I love the candy cane colored ones.

My backyard looks like it is ready for winter.  We’ll see what survives Irene other than the zinnias.

2 responses to this post.

  1. Just wondering if you survived Irene okay and when you got your power back. Hope all is well for you.

    Reply

    • Hi! Thank you for checking up on me. We are all ok. Irene took our power for 5 days, and though we had a generator for 4 hours a night, I wasn’t sitting at the computer during that time. And the day after our power came back on my laptop died. Add to that yard clean-up, getting The Cub ready for kindergarten, and a bunch of other projects I haven’t been able to sit and type for a while. I have ideas and a list and photos all ready to go. But we are all fine. No damage to the house though we lost lots of small branches and a few large branches. I’ll be back to posting and reading and responding/commenting as soon as my new laptop shows up. I hope that all is well with you and your family, too, and that both houses came out in good shape and that the kids are fine at school…

      Enjoy the lovely weather!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

