A New Toy, or Two…

Irene came.  Then she left.  She took our power with her for 5 days.  The morning after it returned my laptop died.  Today my new laptop arrived and M’Lord set it up, including retrieving my Firefox settings and bookmarks from my old hard drive.  So I can now read my comics and blogs and find the school information, bank stuff, etc, much more quickly.

I can also sit down and blog again after The Cub has gone to bed now that we aren’t sharing the big computer.  So I’m back.  And this thing is big.  Larger screen, number keypad, bigger touch pad, more memory and power, than my old five year old toy.  Whee!

But yesterday I finally received my other new toy!  I’ve been saving up for a couple of years for it.  With the birthday gift money from my parents I reached my price at B&H.  So I ordered my new DSLR.  I had a Pentax K-1000 and a ZX-50 for years, but both had issues with battery power at the end, and film is hard to get, so I turned them in, but kept the lenses.  I now own a Pentax K-r, and after playing with it with the lenses I have decided to keep it.  The lenses had me worried.   But I worked with them today and am getting the results that I had hoped for.  So, after 2 years, I finally have an SLR again and can play with my photography skills again.  Yay!

Here is the new camera with the old lens.

I will gripe that I got 4 mosquito bites when I went outside this afternoon to try out the zoom lens once the fog lifted.

On my way home from walking The Cub to school I found this.  As it was just around the corner from my house I scooted home, grabbed my new toy, and went back to try some aperture settings out.

It was a foggy morning and the mist settled on the spider web beautifully.

Then I came back home and took some shots of our poof of a bunch of mums in the front garden.  These are all 2, 3, and 4 year old plants that keep coming back.

I need two to fill in two empty spots, but otherwise the mums just keep coming back.

I have a long way to go to learn everything about my new camera and what I can do with it, but today was a good start.

Happy several birthdays and Christmases to me!

One response to this post.

  1. Wow, sounds like all sorts of new technology around your house! I wish I knew more about what to do with my camera (guess I should either be brave enough to experiment or take a class!). My new (replacement) lens came over the weekend. You may remember that I dropped my camera and broke the “short” lens. Have fun!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

