A Slayer of Socks

I am hard on socks.

I like socks.  Especially in cooler months.

I don’t like to wear shoes or sneakers without socks.  Sandals are fine, but I can’t stand flipflops.

I have lots of socks.

I have to have lots of socks…

…because I kill socks.

Size 6 1/2 is not a big foot.  So I don’t stretch them out or need larger, longer socks.  In fact, the heels of many socks end up farther up the back of my heel and ankle then actually on my heel.  And, though it happens, heel holes rarely happen in my socks.

The feeling of a sharp nail edge rubbing on a toe, a sock, or sheets, is very annoying, so nail trimming is a regular occurrence.  So no holes in the toes.

Occasionally the elastic at the top will dry out, rendering the socks useless unless you like them bunched around the ankles.

No holes in the toes.  Few holes in the heels.  No stretched out socks.  What is left?

I wear out the area under the balls of my feet.  White cotton crew socks, hiking socks, cute cotton socks with cats or Kermit or snowflakes on them, argyle knee socks…I wear out the area under the ball of my foot.  Not just a small hole but a large worn and thin area.  And this happens fairly frequently.  And not evenly between the two matching socks.

So frequently that M’Lord gave me about a dozen new pairs of cute cotton socks for Christmas.  Which is good because about that many pairs ended up in the trash this winter.  One more wearing and today’s pair will probably be heading for the trash, too.

Those aren’t flour spots.  They are areas where you can see right through to my skin.  This is an odd one in that the heel is wearing through, too.

We don’t darn socks anymore.  Socks are inexpensive and colorful.  Keeping all of the colors to match all of the sock colors would be impossible.  Darning was much more practical, and necessary, when stockings and socks were black, brown, or white, and each person only had a few pairs.  And they were thicker.  The repair seam would not bother the bottom of the foot.  One of the family heirlooms that I’ve been given is a double darning egg, used to shape the heel or toe when repairing those few pairs of stockings.

But the holes that appear in my socks are too big for darning.  They require a good sized patch.

White crew socks, bought by the multipack, can be paired up with other white crew socks who have lost their mates to death by my feet.  But unless I buy two matching pairs of cute socks, I end up with a drawer full of odd, though cute, cotton socks.  The Cub needs only so many sock puppets.

But I need more socks.

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by theislandmom on March 29, 2012 at 9:31 pm

    I wear out the heels of mine like crazy. I think it’s because I wear orthotics and they rub my socks against my shoes somehow. On the other hand, I’m hard on shoes, too, so maybe it’s just something about how I walk.

    Reply

  2. Posted by theislandmom on March 29, 2012 at 9:34 pm

    I wear out the heels of my socks. I think it’s because I wear orthotics and they rub my socks up against my shoe somehow. On the other hand, I also wear out my shoes really fast, so maybe it’s something about how I walk.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

