Practice…

…does not make perfect, but it can produce some pretty images.

It is spring.  Spring sprung early.  So I am trying to remember to take my Pentax out with me so that I can practice my photography skills and use more of the camera’s features.

It is usually set on aperture priority, so the next step is to work on all manual and play with shutter speed.  I fought getting digital camera for a long time.  But my favorite benefit to digital is not wasting film.  I can take the “same” photo with a variety of settings, download the images to my laptop, and see what has come of them so quickly.  And not worry about wasting film or waiting for developing.  So I can pick an aperture setting and change the shutter speed.  Or vice versa.  And just play and see what I can get the camera to do.  Today I threw in some manual focus work, too, as I could not get the autofocus to focus on what I wanted it to.

A few weeks ago the crocuses were still out.

Two weeks ago the magnolia, in the yard of a house that we pass on the way to and from school, was all abloom.

So were the cherry blossom trees at the playground.

Mom’s wisteria were all abuzz with bumbles this week.

And the willow trees, at the winery that M’Lord and I had a date lunch at today, were playing with the water.

A professional photographer I will never be.  But I do like to play with a camera.

2 responses to this post.

  1. So pretty! At one time or another (during my childhood) my mother grew all of these things in our yard. The only exception was the weeping willow, and our neighbor had one. Thanks for sharing the photos. It’s officially spring!

    Reply

  2. At one time of another (during my childhood) my mother grew all of these things in our yard. The only exception was the weeping willow, and our next-door neighbor had one. Thanks for sharing the photos. It’s officially spring!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

